Use the instructions below to give someone at MIT permission to view, edit or manage your calendar. You can give another user different types of access, like view only, editor or delegate access.
IMPORTANT: These instructions only apply to Office 365 Users!
- Connect to Outlook on the web (OWA) using the following URL: https://outlook.office.com
- Login using your MIT email (kerberosID@mit.edu) and your own Kerberos Password
- Authenticate via MIT Touchstone
- Click the Calendar Icon on the left bar
- Click the three dots menu next to the Calendar that you want to share
- Select Sharing and Permissions
- Type the name or email address of the person you want to share your calendar with. Though you can share your calendar with more than one person, you can only add one person at a time from Outlook on the web.
- After you’ve added the person you want to manage your calendar, select the drop-down list and choose the level of access you want to give (for example, Delegate)
- Level of access:
- Select Can view when I'm busy to give them permission to see only when you are busy, but not the details of items on your calendar.
- Select Can view titles and locations to give them permission to see when you're busy, plus the titles and locations of items on your calendar.
- Select Can view all details to give them permission to see all details of items on your calendar. others to view your calendar but not make changes to it.
- Select Can edit to give them permission to make changes to your calendar.
- Select Delegate to give them the same permission as an editor, plus they will receive meeting requests and responses on your behalf.
- Note: When a delegate responds to a meeting invitation on your behalf, you won't see the response on the invitation in your Inbox when using Outlook on the web. Meetings that are accepted or tentatively accepted will appear on your calendar and will show that your delegate accepted them.
- After you’ve finished adding the person you want to share your calendar with and have chosen which permission you want to give them, select Share. If you decide not to share your calendar right now, select the Remove (trash bin) icon.
- The person you shared your calendar with will receive an email message with all the details. When the user selects the Accept button in the invitation, it will add your calendar to the list of calendars.